Forum rules: Do not post bugs or feature requests here! Report bugs to our Issue Tracker and suggestions to Suggest a Feature.

By Ganman3
#162517 There are plenty of places, but learning Java is not an easy task, and will take months or years. I use Udemy.com. They have a wonderful Java tutorial there, but it's taken me awhile to get where I am.
By urbymine
#162550 as a rookie myself, i could say that the best way to learn it is via college since you also learn designing your projects prior to coding and receive the necessary math if you're committed to becoming a full time programmer.
current tools i use is the netbeans program as a workplace to practice basic programs, the book i use is "deitel deitel how to java programm 10th edition" which is a really solid book.
though, don't take my advice to heart, i'm a rookie myself and have not seen that many of the different options out there.
By Vikerus
#162728 Start with javascript and a simple website. If you are good with one language chances are learning others will be easy as well. Unless we are talking lisp... I learned what I know now from opening up programs and ripping source code. Play with it until you understand the syntax rules and try to learn something about neat code structure. Those two skills will help with learning deep coding logic later on.

To learn you have to practice. Simple as that. You don't need college, just the mind to sit down and learn from any source that is available at the time ;) Open source programs are a good start. Lots of them on github to look at and then modify. If you are persistent you can learn enough to amuse yourself into learning more within a couple weeks.
By JeanMarc1
#162732 If you've got an Android phone, there's an app called "Learn Java" that seems to cover the basics pretty well.
By Ganman3
#162742 It seems like a lot of people are arguing for learning other programming languages before Java and learning math. I think that depends on your learning style.